Questions & Answers


How do I become a licensed Florida Insurance Agent?

The basics of obtaining a Florida Insurance License are:

  • Complete a pre-licensing course (hours and costs vary)
  • Pass the state licensing exam ($42 fee)
  • Get fingerprinted for a criminal background check ($48.55 fee)
  • Submit the license application ($55 fee)

We provide education for the following Florida Insurance Licenses:

  • Florida 2-15 Health & Life Insurance Agent, you must successfully complete the Florida 60 Hour Health & Life (Including Annuities & Variable Contracts) Agent License Course
  • Florida 2-14 Life Only Insurance Agent, you must successfully complete the Florida 40 Hour Life (Including Annuities & Variable Contracts) Agent License Course
  • Florida 2-40 Health Only Insurance Agent, you must successfully complete the Florida 40 Hour Health Agent License Course

Click the link to view more details about how to get a Life and Health Insurance License in Florida.

What is a 2-15 Insurance Agent License?

2-15 refers to the Florida Health & Life (Including Annuities & Variable Contracts) Agent License. This license allows you to sell all forms of Life Insurance, Health Insurance, Medicare Supplement, HMO, Home Health Care, Managed Care and Long Term Care policies. You may also sell FIXED Annuities.

What is a 2-14 Insurance Agent License?

2-14 refers to the Florida Life (Including Annuities & Variable Contracts) Agent License. This license allows you to sell all forms of Life Insurance. You may also sell FIXED Annuities.

What is a 2-40 Insurance Agent License?

2-40 refers to the Florida Health Agent License. This license allows you to sell all forms of Health Insurance, Medicare Supplement, HMO, Home Health Care, Managed Care and Long Term Care policies. 

After I get my Florida Insurance License, how do I go to work for an insurance company?

Section 626.112, of the Florida Statutes, states that no person may be, act as, or advertise or hold himself or herself out to be an insurance agent, unless he or she is currently licensed by the Department of Financial Services (DFS) and has an "appointment" with an appropriate entity or person.

An "appointment" is a formal work authorization made by an insurance company to the DFS. It authorizes the licensee to write business for that insurance company or conduct business for that employer. Appointment fees are $60.

How does the Florida Insurance Pre-Licensing Classroom Course differ from a Pre-Licensing Online Course?

The difference between classroom education and online education is quite significant. With our classroom courses you will be taught by professionally trained instructors who are not only experts in the real estate industry, but they also understand how to prepare you for success on the exam. In a classroom setting you are able to ask questions, get clarification on subject matter that you may not understand, network with other professionals and HAVE FUN

We understand that "going back to school" is not at the top of your to-do list, so we make sure you have a comfortable learning environment that is geared toward your comfort, and our interactive and energetic instructors make sure you have an enjoyable experience. Our reputation for high-quality classroom experiences is the reason why we are the market leader in Florida insurance education.

Online courses are geared toward those individuals who have previous insurance experience, have been licensed in another state or are very comfortable in an online learning environment. Online learning is not right for everyone, but it can be a very convenient way to complete the required education. Keep in mind that in our classroom course the schedule is already laid out for you and our instructors will tell you how to proceed through the course material.

Please call us at (239) 344-7510 if you have further questions about the difference between classroom and online education or need guidance in making a selection.

Interested in becoming a Larson Instructor? Learn more »

Do I need to be a resident of Florida to get my Florida Insurance Agent License?

Yes, residency is required. You are a resident if you do one of the following: 

  • Enroll your children in a Florida public school 
  • Accept employment 
  • Register to Vote 
  • File for a homestead exemption 
  • Reside in Florida for more than six consecutive months

Are there any exceptions to completing the Pre-Licensing Education?

Yes. Each license has exceptions to completing the Pre-Licensing Education. If you meet the requirements, you are not required to complete any education to obtain the license. However, you will still need to get fingerprinted and submit a license application. 

2-15 Health & Life Agent  

You are exempt from pre-licensing education if you:

  • Apply through reciprocity from a recognized state. Not exempt from State Examination.
  • Taught a 60 hour DFS approved Health & Life Agent pre-licensing course in the four (4) years prior to application.
  • Earned a degree which includes at least 9 semester hours of health insurance, life insurance, annuities, and variable contracts from an accredited college or university. An official transcript is required. Also exempt from State Examination.
  • Held a valid resident license with the equivalent line of authority for at least one (1) continuous year prior to submitting the Florida Health & Life License application. Application must be submitted within 90 days of becoming a resident of Florida. Also exempt from State Examination.
  • Have an original letter from the American College of Financial Services certifying the licensee was awarded the Chartered Life Underwriters (CLU) designation. Also exempt from State Examination.

2-14 Life Agent  

You are exempt from pre-licensing education if you:

  • Apply through reciprocity from a recognized state. Not exempt from State Examination.
  • Taught a 40 hour DFS approved Life Agent pre-licensing course in the four (4) years prior to application.
  • Earned a degree which includes at least 9 semester hours of life insurance, annuities, and variable contracts from an accredited college or university. An official transcript is required. Also exempt from State Examination.
  • Held a valid resident license with the equivalent line of authority for at least one (1) continuous year prior to submitting the Florida Life License application. Application must be submitted within 90 days of becoming a resident of Florida. Also exempt from State Examination.
  • Have an original letter from the American College of Financial Services certifying the licensee was awarded the Chartered Life Underwriters (CLU) designation. Also exempt from State Examination.

2-14 Health Only Agent  

You are exempt from pre-licensing education if you:

  • Apply through reciprocity from a recognized state. Not exempt from State Examination.
  • Taught a 40 hour DFS approved Health Agent pre-licensing course in the four (4) years prior to application.
  • Earned a degree which includes at least 9 semester hours of health insurance from an accredited college or university. An official transcript is required. Also exempt from State Examination.
  • Held a valid resident license with the equivalent line of authority for at least one (1) continuous year prior to submitting the Florida Health License application. Application must be submitted within 90 days of becoming a resident of Florida. Also exempt from State Examination.
  • Have an original letter from the American College of Financial Services certifying the licensee was awarded the Chartered Life Underwriters (CLU) designation. Also exempt from State Examination.

Does Florida have license reciprocity with any states?

Yes. Since 1992 Florida has permitted an applicant for licensure as a Florida resident health & life, life only or health only agent to be exempt from Florida's pre-licensing education requirement as long as the applicant was licensed in a qualifying state within the four (year) period prior to applying in Florida. An applicant using reciprocity is NOT EXEMPT from the Florida licensing examination.

STATES WITH FULL RECIPROCITY

Alaska Iowa North Carolina
Arizona Kansas Ohio
California Maine Oklahoma
Colorado Michigan Pennsylvania
Connecticut Minnesota South Dakota
Delaware Mississippi Utah
Idaho Missouri Wyoming
Illinois Nebraska  
Indiana New Jersey  

STATES WITH CONDITIONAL RECIPROCITY

Alabama,
Montana,
North Dakota
The application for a resident life, health and variable annuity license in Florida must be received within 12 months of the date they were last licensed in their former state of residence
Rhode Island,
Texas,
Vermont
The application for a resident life, health and variable annuity license in Florida must be received within 24 months of the date they were last licensed in their former state of residence.
Virginia The application for a resident life, health and variable annuity license in Florida must be received within 12 months of the date they were last licensed in their former state of residence.  The Virginia license must have been held for 1 year. Documentation of 1 year of licensure in Virginia must accompany the Florida application.
Washington The application for a resident life, health and variable annuity license in Florida must be received within 90 days of the date they were last licensed in their former state of residence. The Washington license must have been held for at least 2 years.
Maryland, Massachusetts The application for a resident life, health and variable annuity license in Florida must be received within 3 years of the date they were last licensed in their former state of residence
Nevada The applicant must have been licensed as an agent for the type and class applied for in 10 of the last 15 years or has been employed by an insurer for at least 10 years.
New Hampshire The applicant must have been licensed for the type and class applied for in 3 out of the last 5 years preceding the application for resident licensure.
Oregon The applicant must have held an active license for a period of 3 years ending within 2 years of the date of application to Florida.

STATES WITH NO RECIPROCITY

Applicants with a license from the following states must comply with Florida's pre-licensing education and testing requirements.

Arkansas New Mexico
District of Columbia (DC) New York
Georgia South Carolina
Hawaii Tennessee
Kentucky West Virginia
Louisiana Wisconsin

If I hold an insurance license in another state, can I "transfer" the license to Florida?

Yes. If you are licensed and in good standing for one (1) continuous year in one of the participating reciprocal states, you can apply to the Department of Financial Services (DFS) to "transfer" your license from the other state. This means you are giving up your license in the other state and transferring it to Florida. You can only transfer it as the same insurance license type. You must submit your application AFTER becoming a Florida resident, but within 90 days of becoming a resident. As long as you completed the pre-licensing course and state examination in your previous home state, you are exempt from the education and examination requirement in Florida. 

If you obtain your license in your previous home state through reciprocity, you are NOT EXEMPT from the education and examination requirement in Florida.

If you do not want to lose your license in the other state, you will want to apply through reciprocity, which requires you to still take the Florida licensing exam

Are members of the US Armed Forces exempt from any part of the insurance agent licensing process?

Yes. Members of the United States Armed Forces, their spouses, and veterans who have retired within 24 months are exempted from the application filing fee for licenses. You will need to pay the fee when you apply, but after payment is accepted, submit a copy of your DD Form 214 to AgentLicensing@MyFloridaCFO.com and request a refund of the application filing fee.

When I submit my Florida insurance license application, what are they looking for to be able to approve me to get the license?

The applicant must make it possible to immediately begin the inquiry as to whether the applicant is honest, truthful, trustworthy, of good character, and bears a good reputation for fair dealings, and will likely make transactions and conduct negotiations with safety to investors and to those with whom the applicant may undertake a relation of trust and confidence. The applicant is required to disclose:

  • Whether the applicant has ever been convicted or found guilty of, or entered a guilty plea of nolo contendere or guilty to, regardless of adjudication, a crime in any jurisdiction or if applicant is currently under criminal investigation;
  • Whether the applicant has ever done business under any other name, or alias, than the name signed on the application, with sufficient information to enable the Commission to investigate the circumstances;
  • Whether the applicant has had any license, registration or permit to practice any requested profession, occupation, vocation or business revoked, annulled, suspended, relinquished, surrendered or otherwise disciplined in Florida or in any other jurisdiction or if any such proceeding or investigation is now pending; and 
  • Whether the applicant has had an application for an insurance license denied in Florida or in any other jurisdiction or if there is a pending proceeding to deny such application.

If I have a criminal history, what could possibly keep me from getting a Florida insurance license?

Permanent Bar:

Persons who have committed certain felonies are permanently barred from applying for licensure. Other felonies and certain misdemeanors require the applicant to wait for a disqualifying period to lapse prior to applying for licensure. The permanent bar and the disqualifying periods apply regardless of whether adjudication was withheld or an applicant's civil rights have been restored.

  • An applicant who has committed a felony of the first degree, a capital felony, a felony involving money laundering, fraud, or embezzlement, or a felony directly related to the financial services business is permanently barred from applying for a license. This bar applies to convictions, guilty pleas, or nolo contendere pleas, regardless of adjudication, by any applicant, officer, director, majority owner, partner, manager, or other person who manages or controls any applicant.

Click this link for a list of examples of crimes that fall within this category.

Disqualifying Periods:

The following disqualifying periods must be met prior to application and the disqualifying periods begin upon the applicant’s final release from supervision or upon completion of the applicant’s criminal sentence:

  • A 15-year disqualifying period exists for all felonies involving moral turpitude that are not specifically included in the permanent bar above.
  • A 7-year disqualifying period exists for all felonies to which neither the permanent bar nor the 15-year disqualifying period applies.
  • A 7-year disqualifying period exists for all misdemeanors directly related to the financial services business.

Click this link for a list of examples of crimes that fall within this category.

Meeting the conditions above does not automatically guarantee the applicant will be granted licensure.

NOTE: The Department does not accept faxed court documents

What are my license renewal and continuing education requirements?

There is NO INSURANCE LICENSE RENEWAL REQUIREMENT in Florida. Licenses are perpetual, meaning you can hold it forever, so long as you complete your continuing education and do not exceed a 48 month (4 year) time-period without an "appointment."  An "appointment" is a formal work authorization made by an insurance company to the DFS. It authorizes the licensee to write business for that insurance company or conduct business for that employer.

Continuing education is required every two (2) years for Florida Insurance License holders. The education must be completed by the end of the licensee's birth month. The following licenses require continuing education:

  • 2-15 Health & Life Agent License
  • 2-14 Life Only Agent License
  • 2-40 Health Only Agent License

The education requirement is twenty-four (24) hours total for agents licensed less than six (6) years, and twenty (20) hours for agents licensed more than six (6) years. The requirement is:

  • 5 hours of Law & Ethics Update (must be specific to your insurance license type). If you have a Health & Life License, you only have to take one of the 5-hour Law & Ethics courses.
  • 19 hours of Electives
  • Courses can not be duplicated within a three (3) year window.

Questions?