Renewal Requirements

The following items must be completed to renew your Mortgage Loan Originator License.

  • Complete all steps between November 1 and December 31 for Florida MLOs
  • Complete all steps between November 1 and December 1 for Minnesota MLOs.

Step 1: Complete 8 Hours of Continuing Education

You are required to complete 8 Hours of SAFE MLO Continuing Education PRIOR to submitting for license renewal. We offer classes in Fort Myers, Naples, Fort Lauderdale and West Palm Beach, Florida. We also offer this course in Bloomington and Brooklyn Center, MN.

Step 2: Attestation

Before you can submit a renewal request, you must Attest to your information in the NMLS system. To Attest your information:

  1. Log into the NMLS website and click the RENEWALS tab
  2. Click on ATTESTATION at the top
  3. Select the box next to the Regulator (ie. the state) to be attested
  4. Select the Verification checkbox at the bottom of the page
  5. Click the ATTEST AND SUBMIT button at the bottom

Step 3: Submit a License Renewal Request

NOTE: If your company is going to pay your renewal fees, DO NOT COMPLETE STEPS 3 and 4.

To Submit a License Renewal Request:

  1. Log into NMLS (if you aren't already logged in)
  2. Click the RENEWALS tab at the top of the page
  3. Click on RENEWAL OPTIONS at the top
  4. Select the box directly below the green checkmark icon
  5. Click the APPLY SELECTION button at the bottom

NOTE: You must have a Renewal-eligible status in order to renew your license. You will not be able to renew if at least one of the following is true:

  • Your license is marked as Prevent Renewal by the Regulator
  • You have previously submitted a renewal request during the current year
  • You have not previously met the license requirements stipulated by the SAFE Act

Step 4: Pay the Renewal Fee

After completing Step 3 above (Submit a License Renewal Request), you must pay your license renewal fees.

To do this:

  1. While logged into your NMLS account click on RENEWALS CART on the left side of the page
  2. Click the PROCEED TO INVOICE button on the bottom of the page
  3. Click the PAY INVOICE button
  4. Complete the payment process

Florida Mortgage Loan Originator License Renewal Fees

  • $150 Florida renewal fee
  • $20 Florida guaranty trust fee
  • $6 FDLE retained fingerprint fee (fingerprints are good for 5 years)
  • $36.25 Federal background check (fingerprints are good for 3 years)
  • $30 NMLS processing fee
  • $15 credit report fee

Minnesota Mortgage Loan Originator License Renewal Fees

  • $50 Minnesota renewal fee
  • $36.25 Federal background check (fingerprints are good for 3 years)
  • $30 NMLS processing fee
  • $15 credit report fee

Step 5: Check Your Fingerprint Status

If your Federal fingerprint record has expired, meaning they were taken more than 3 years ago, follow these directions:

  1. Log into your NMLS account.
  2. Click on composite view.
  3. Click on individual, and then click on view criminal background checks. This screen provides an expiration date of your fingerprints.
    • If the expiration date is prior to November 1, 2020, you have no other option but to obtain another electronic scan of your fingerprints in order to renew your existing license.
    • If the date is after November 1, 2020, you have the option to file your license renewal prior to the date of expiration. If you choose to do that, you will not have to be re-fingerprinted until your 2021 renewal.
  4. To order the fingerprinting, click on "filing"; initiate a filing and then click on criminal background check.
  5. Complete the appropriate information on that screen and pay the funds for the federal background check only - cost is $36.25 (this includes the cost of fingerprinting AND processing)
  6. You will then be directed to a link to schedule your appointment through Fieldprint or call Fieldprint customer service at 877-614-4361.
For further assistance with a renewal, please contact the NMLS Call Center at 855-665-7123. For all other questions, please contact us.